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Conditions for a squeeze normally have to be just right. You need the last free 
winner in one suit (the squeeze card), a long menace (winner and threat card) 
in another suit in the hand opposite, a short menace (a threat card on its own) 
in a third suit in either hand, an entry card to the long menace, and the ability 
to take all the tricks bar one without the benefit of the squeeze (often referred 
to as the “rule of N-1”).  
 
Further winners can often be added without changing the nature of the 
squeeze, but in general the layout must be as described, or the squeeze does 
not operate. Take for example the layouts shown below:  
 
(a)  ♠ KQ  (b) ♠ 9 
  ♥    ♥  
  ♦ Q   ♦ 4 
  ♣    ♣ 8 
 ♠ 5  ♠ AJ ♠ 5  ♠ AJ 
 ♥ 3  ♥  ♥ 3  ♥  
 ♦   ♦ 10 ♦ 10  ♦  
 ♣ 6  ♣  ♣   ♣ 6 
  ♠ 9   ♠ KQ 
  ♥    ♥  
  ♦ 4   ♦ Q 
  ♣ 8   ♣  
 
West is on lead and needs to make the remaining tricks. Identify the 
ingredients of the squeeze: ♥3 is the squeeze card (the last free winner), ♠AJ 
is the long menace in the hand opposite, ♦10 is the short menace. Note that 
there is an entry to the long menace in ♠5, and that declarer could take two of 
the remaining three tricks without resorting to any squeeze play.  
 
The layout in (a) is known as a positional squeeze, because it works only 
against one opponent – the one lying under the long menace. When the 
squeeze card is played, North must unguard one of the two suits, dummy 
discards the other and takes the last two tricks. Note that it will not work if you 
move the North cards into the South hand, because dummy must choose a 
suit to unguard before South. In (b) the short menace is in the same hand as 
the squeeze card. This is called an automatic squeeze because it will work 
against either opponent.  
 
Note also that no squeeze will operate if West has another trick to lose, as the 
defender will have a free discard to make on the squeeze card.   
 



(c)  ♠ KQ  (d) ♠ 9 
  ♥    ♥  
  ♦ Q7   ♦ 42 
  ♣    ♣ 8 
 ♠ 5  ♠ AJ ♠ 5  ♠ AJ 
 ♥ 3  ♥  ♥ 3  ♥  
 ♦   ♦ 106 ♦ 106  ♦  
 ♣ 62  ♣  ♣   ♣ 62 
  ♠ 9   ♠ KQ 
  ♥    ♥  
  ♦ 4   ♦ Q7 
  ♣ 98   ♣  
 
In (c) and (d) West can make only two tricks with the two natural winners.  
 
However, it is sometimes possible to squeeze an opponent out of a trick and 
then give up a later trick. In the Bearn qualifying heat in September 2005 at 
the Club I was dealt the following West hand (matchpoints, W dealer, NS 
vulnerable): 
 
 ♠ AK10983       ♠ QJ54 
 ♥ AQ10          ♥ K74 
 ♦ 4             ♦ AQ85 
 ♣ K73           ♣ 842 
 
 

 W N E S 
 1♠ 2♦ 4♠ P 
 P P  
 
North led a trump, and I saw that ten tricks were laydown, with an eleventh 
available if North held the king of diamonds. In addition, if North holds five 
other diamonds (or J109 and one other diamond) and the ace of clubs, I seem 
to have the elements of a squeeze – a squeeze card in either spades or 
hearts, an unusual long menace in the ♦8 (after a finesse of the queen and 
the ace have removed any cards South may have in the suit), a short menace 
in the ♣K, and an entry to the long menace in ♦4. Unfortunately, the rule of  
N-1 poses a difficulty – even with the finesse I have only eleven out of the 
thirteen tricks, in other words N-2.  
 
The usual solution to this problem is to duck a trick early on (known as 
rectifying the count) so that I have eleven certain winners and can squeeze 
out the twelfth for what I hope will be a good matchpoint score. However, in 
this instance I cannot duck a club without giving up more tricks in the suit and 
defeating the object of the exercise.  
 
Luckily, I recognised that this was one of the situations where the squeeze 
would work anyway. I ran all the trumps discarding a heart and a diamond, 
then played the king and ace of hearts. This was the position with the last 
heart to play: 



 ♠ - 
 ♥ - 
 ♦ KJ10 
 ♣ AQ 
 
 ♠ -       ♠ - 
 ♥ Q          ♥ - 
 ♦ 4             ♦ AQ8 
 ♣ K73           ♣ 84 
 
 (immaterial) 
 
I led the ♥Q (the squeeze card) and North had no good discard. If he throws a 
diamond, I discard a club from dummy, finesse the ♦Q, cash the ♦A8 and give 
up the last trick. If North discards a club I throw a diamond from dummy, duck 
a club to his ace and make the last three tricks with the ♣K and the ♦AQ via 
the finesse. Twelve tricks.  
 
As the count cannot be rectified, this is known as a squeeze-without-the-
count.  


