LCDC Most Common Director Rulings

You are declarer and wrong opponent makes opening lead (law 54)
1. You can accept the lead and you become dummy while partner becomes declarer.

2. You can accept the lead but stay declarer and have the dummy faced before making your play on the first trick. Helps your
decision on the first trick.

3. You can reject the lead and now instruct the correct leader to lead the same suit. At this point the offender puts the card back in
his hand and can play anything.

4. You can reject the lead and compel the correct leader to avoid leading the same suit. At this point the offender puts the card
back in his hand and can play anything.

5. You can reject the lead and let the correct leader lead any card he wishes. In this case the offender’s card remains face up on
the table as a major penalty card. This card must be played at 1% opportunity. While the penalty card is still on the table, and
every time the correct leader gains the lead you can exercise one of the 3 major penalty card options.

During the play of the hand a defender plays prematurely when it is partner’s turn to play (law 57)
Assume it is not accepted, it becomes a major penalty card, then declarer can insist that the correct leader lead his biggest or
smallest card in that suit or the declarer can prohibit the lead of any suit he specifies.

Defenders Lead out of turn (law 56) if not accepted, becomes major penalty card

Bids out of turn (some very harsh rules if not accepted):
1. If you passed before anyone has bid you must pass only for the next turn in the auction (law 30)

2. Ifthe bidding has commenced and you “poached” your partner’s bid with a pass of your own, you must pass for the balance of the
auction. Offender's partner may not double or redouble at that turn.

3. Ifyou “poached” your partner’s turn to bid with a bid of your own, your partner must pass for the rest of the auction. Remember if you
pass during the bidding when it is your partner’s bid, you will pass, not your partner, for the rest of the auction.

4. If you “poached” your partner’s turn to bid with a double, then your partner must pass for the rest of the auction. (law 32)

5. Ifthe bidding has commenced and you “poached” your RHO’s turn with a pass, double, or redouble and RHO passes, then you must
repeat your call at your turn. (laws 30B, 32B1) If RHO makes any other call, see law 32B2.

6. If you “poached” your RHOs turn with a bid then you must repeat it if RHO passes. (law 31A1)

7. If you “poached” your RHO’s turn with a bid , RHO makes a bid of his own, you must repeat it with a sufficient bid in the same suit &
partner must pass 1 turn. If any other bid is made (no double) your partner must pass for the rest of the auction. (law 31A2)

8. If you “poached” your LHO” turn (correct opener) with a bid of your own, Your partner is barred from the rest of the auction. (law 31B)

NOTE: All penalty Clauses are forfeit if the next person in rotation makes a call thus accepting the faulty call. The penalties can only be
imposed by a director when the opponents refuse to accept the out of rotation bid.

Assessing Penalties for an Established Revoke (law 64)
Penalties only from the established revoke onward--not from previous tricks.

Two tricks are transferred to the non-offending side if the revoking player won the revoke trick and his side won any subsequent trick.

One trick is transferred to the non-offending side if the trick on which the revoke occurred was not won by the offending player, but the
offending side won that or any subsequent trick.

If the defenders revoke and it is discovered at that trick then the erroneous card becomes a face-up major penalty card. This does not
apply to the declarer who simply puts the card back in his hand!



Insufficient bid rules: (When not accepted call the director)

If corrected to the lowest sufficient bid in same denomination, or any call that has the same meaning, auction continues. (law 27B1)

If offender corrects with another bid or pass, partner must pass for the remainder of the auction. Lead penalties may apply (law 27B2)
Note: All penalties are forfeit if the next player in rotation makes a bid, thus accepting the insufficient bid. A player can always accept
an insufficient bid! Some interesting bidding sequences can occur but they are legal. The enforced pass penalty can be overturned by a

director if it damages the non offenders.

Minor & Major Penalty Cards

Minor Penalty Cards:

A minor penalty card occurs when a card is accidentally dropped on the table in such a manner as the partner could possibility have
seen it but its value is a 9 or less. The card must remain face up on the table but only must be played before another card in that suit is
played by the offender which is less than a 10. For example if you were to hold KC, 8C &2C and the 8C became a minor penalty card,
you could always play the KC instead of the 8C but you could not play the 2C before the 8C. You can only have one minor penalty
card. If more than 1 card has been dropped they both/all become major penalty cards. (laws 50B and 50C)

Major Penalty Cards:

This is the most common penalty card and occurs when an accidental card is dropped which could be seen by partner with a value
greater than 9 or a deliberate play of any value (e.g.: to prevent an established revoke in the same trick) This card must be played at
the first legal opportunity. If the partner of the player with the penalty card still on the table gains the lead, the declarer has three
options: 1: He can demand the lead of that suit and any penalty cards of that suit will be immediately returned to his partner’s hand. 2:
He can forbid the lead of that suit and any penalty cards of that suit will be immediately returned to his partner’s hand. 3: He can allow
the leader to lead anything and the penalty card stays on the table to be played at the first opportunity. (law 50D)

Note: Declarer can exercise these options anytime a major penalty card is on the table.
Direct cue bids:

Although conventional direct cue bids are not alertable, if a cue bid directly over an opening bid is natural then the partner must alert
it.

Possible Unauthorized Information (law 16)

Your partner went into a “huddle” (pause) before passing followed by an opponent’s pass. Although you may still make your normal
call, it must be clear that your bid has not been influenced by unauthorized information. Your call must be such that a substantial
number of your peer group would not have made a different call and your choice among reasonable options was not affected by
unauthorized information.

In any case, the non-offending side should either reserve the right to call the director later or should call the director immediately. If
they disagree with the director's assessment as to what a "substantial number" of the peer group would do, they have the right to
request an appeals committee.

Alerts:

Some calls require an immediate alert--at which time the next player in turn to call may ask what the bid means. Even without an alert,
the next player to call can always ask the meaning of a previous call. In some cases, after the auction is over and before the opening
lead is made the declaring side must give a delayed alert. What this means is that even if the opponents did not ask during the
auction, an explanation of the bids can be made prior to the opening lead.



