
Leading 3rd and 5th

“He thinks he’s so cool, ever 
since he got that new tablet.”

Tom Snow
(805) 305-5035

coinerbop@gmail.com



Time for a Joke

My wife is strongly against our next-door 

neighbor, who sunbathes nude in her yard. As for 

me, I’m on the fence.

****

Husband on the phone to his wife: “Honey, I had a 

terrible accident at work. Sabrina had to take me 

to the hospital. I have multiple broken bones and 

they may have to amputate my leg.”

Wife: “Who’s Sabrina?”



3rd and 5th Leads

K975432  4th Best: K75432  K5432  K432  K32  K2  

K975432  Old 3rd & 5th: K75432  K5432  K432  K32  K2  

AND

K975432  New 3rd & 5th: K75432  K5432  K432  K32  K2  

New 3rd & 5th:
Opener leads the third highest card when holding an even number 
of cards, and the lowest from an odd number.

Old 3rd & 5th:
Opener leads the fifth highest card if he can, otherwise, the third 
highest.

Opener leads the fourth highest card if he can, otherwise, he 
leads low from 3 or high from a doubleton.

4th Best:

METHOD

The solution: The lowest card of the 
suit = 3-card, second lowest = 4-card.

With the New Solution, it’s easier to 
tell a 6-card suit from a 7-card one.

But then how can partner tell the 
difference between a 3-card suit 
and a 4-card one?

Warning: Sometimes the new leads 
are too costly – i.e. leading the 9 
from KJ92.



New 3rd and 5th 

Leads Vs. the Old

North East South West

1S

Pass 1NT Pass 3H

Pass 4H Pass Pass

Pass

The New 3rd and 5th Leads evolved from situations like this one. Playing the Old Way, partner could 
have started with ♦Q10653 or ♦Q106532. Does declarer have ♦9 or ♦92?  Will the A♦ cash?

With the New Way, you know the A♦ will cash. Partner would lead the 3♦ from ♦Q10653 and the 6♦

from ♦Q106532.

After the you play the K♦ at trick #1, you should cash the A♦ (declarer can’t have the Q♦) and play 
the 6♣ (3rd and 5th Leads can also be played in the middle of the hand). Declarer’s ♣’s in dummy 

might go away on his long ♠’s.

♠54  ♥KQJ3 ♦J87  ♣J732

Dummy

♠976  ♥872 ♦AK4  ♣10864

You Hold

3♦

Partner Leads

9♦



More Jokes
“Nothing looks good on me anymore,” wailed a customer modeling an 

outfit in front of the department store’s mirror.

“Nonsense, ma’am,” soothed the salesclerk. “That dress says it all.”

“That’s the problem,” the woman replied. “I need a dress that keeps its 

mouth shut.”

****

Q: How many telemarketers does it take to change a light bulb?

A: Only one, but he has to do it while you are eating dinner.

****

“We used to play spin the bottle when I was a kid. A girl would spin the 

bottle, and if the bottle pointed to you when it stopped, the girl could 

either kiss you or give you a nickel. By the time I was fourteen, I owned 

my own house.”



Using 4th and 5th

Best Leads

North East South West

1D

Pass 1H Pass 2C

Pass 2D Pass 3D

Pass Pass Pass

Partner’s lead shows 3 or 5 ♥’s. Declarer probably started with only 1 ♥, since 
he didn’t preference back to 2H over his partner’s 2D bid.

This means declarer started with at least 2 ♠’s in his hand. When he eventually 

plays a ♠ from dummy, you can duck smoothly (get ready for it). It would be 
very rare for declarer to have only 1 ♥ and a singleton K♠.

When you get in later with either ace, lead the 8♣ to show partner no 
important honor (A,K or Q) in that suit (not necessarily a doubleton).

♠987  ♥AJ43 ♦Q32  ♣1062

Dummy

♠A632  ♥K107 ♦A54  ♣873

You Hold

2♥

Partner Leads

9♥



The Rules of
10 and 12

RULE OF 10:

When Partner leads low from 5th best:

1) Subtract the opening lead spot card from 10.

2) Then subtract the number of cards in dummy higher than the card led.

3) Finally, subtract the number of cards in your hand that are higher than the 

card led.

The answer (1) equals how many cards declarer holds higher than the lead.

Mathematical corollaries 
to 3rd and 5th best leads that 
enable the third hand player 
to count how many cards 
declarer holds which are 
higher than the lead.

♥1096

Dummy

♥KJ2

You Hold

4♥

Partner Leads

Declarer

♥???

10 – 4 = 6

6 – 3 = 3

3 – 2 = 1

Declarer may 
have ♥Qx or 
♥Ax. Play your 
K♥, then 2♥, so 
you don’t set up 
dummy’s 10♥.

https://www.bridgebum.com/third_and_fifth_leads.php


The Rule 
of 12

RULE OF 12:

When Partner leads 3rd best (assuming from an even number):

1) Subtract the opening lead spot card from 12.

2) Then subtract the number of cards in dummy higher than the card led.

3) Finally, subtract the number of cards in your hand that are higher than the 

card led.

The answer (2) equals how many cards declarer holds higher than the lead.

Used when a lead is 

third-best. It works the 

same as the Rule of 

10, except that the 
starting number is 12.

♥1096

Dummy

♥KJ2

You Hold

5♥

Partner Leads

Declarer

♥???

12 – 5 = 7 7 – 3 = 4

4 – 2 = 2

Declarer has 
two ♥’s higher 
than the 5♥, so 

partner led 

from a 4-card 

suit.



Playtime
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