## BENDIGO BRIDGE CLUB INC. A00053972

### ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

### held

# Monday 14<sup>th</sup> August, 2023 for the financial year ended 30<sup>th</sup> June, 2023 At Long Gully Community Centre

## **Minutes**

President Graeme Hegarty opened the meeting at 11.30 a.m. and welcomed members present.

### **Members Present and Apologies**

<u>Members Present</u>: Ethne Ramage, Eamon Dempsey, Rosemary Monotti, Polly Shaw, Carla Daly, Diane Dunlop, Brigitte Agnew, Laureen Jinks, Janet Rogers, Paul O'Hare, Graeme Hegarty, Cathie Shearer, Kevin Gunn, Faye Searle, Glenda Burt, Wendy Bodey, Lorraine Dullard, Glenise Pithie, Barb Evans, Charles Young, Merlyn Prichard, Jennifer Goddard, Peter Goddard, Lorraine Ferguson, Kaye Parker, Valentine Ratnayeke, Rod Smyth, Eva Geday, Barb Hyett, Trisha McGregor, Ron Wescott, Adrian Dezilva, Vicky Banko, Sylvia Watson, Bob Perkins, Bernadette Wood, Kate Cronk, Cheryl Chant, Jill Balaam, Graham Forbes, Margaret Roberts, Laureen Jinks. <u>Apologies</u>: Glenis Roberts, David Smith, Sue Wheeler, Maryan Andrea, Barb Pelly, Judy Brown, Yvonne Forrest, Henry Szwed.

#### **Minutes from Previous Meeting**

Minutes from the Annual Meeting held on the 26<sup>th</sup> September, 2022 in respect of the financial year 2021-2022 as circulated were confirmed. Moved Kaye Parker, seconded Lorraine Dullard. Carried.

#### Reports

#### President's Report

President Graeme spoke to his written report which was available for all members present as well as thanking members for their concern for his wellbeing. He then advised members that the Committee has met each month with a few extra meetings.

The report outlined the positions each member of the committee held and their duties acknowledging the hard work of the Secretary Brigitte Agnew also our Club Director's hard work throughout the year and his knowledge of the Laws of Bridge.

Graeme thanked the Congress Sub-Committee led by Barb Evans and Merlyn Prichard for coordinating a successful Congress.

Graeme thanked all members for the work they do for the Bendigo Bridge Club.

Carla Daly moved that the President's report be accepted. Seconded Ron Wescott.

# Club Director's Report

Paul O'Hare presented his written comprehensive report for the period October 2022 to August 2023 which was available for all members.

Paul spoke to his report confirming that it has been a year of consolidation in that we were able to bring back our marquee events attracting reasonably solid numbers.

With the fading of Covid-19 player numbers have returned to a reasonable level for all major sessions. Tuesday sessions have struggled but appear to have stabilised to four tables per session. Paul thanked our five active Directors, Jennifer and Peter Goddard, Paul O'Hare, Ron Wescott and Seb Wright for directing our sessions and the co-operative way they fill in when needed.

The Dealing Panel of five members being David Yum, Graeme Hegarty, Paul O'Hare, Peter Goddard and Rosemary Monotti work well together and are very willing to fill in when needs be.

Special thanks to Ron Wescott (Masterpoint Secretary) for his very valued input into the organization of our playing program particularly the marquee events.

Website is a work in progress and any suggestions for improvement let the Secretary know. In April 2023 we updated our scoring and session management software from Compscore 2 to Compscore 3 which has increased the time taken to finalize session results.

Paul thanked members of the Match Sub-committee (Paul O'Hare (Chair), Barb Evans, Peter Goddard and Ron Wescott for their valuable contributions to our deliberations and decision making.

Diane Dunlop moved that the Director's Report be accepted.

Seconded Merlyn Prichard.

<u>Treasurer's Report</u> presented by Laureen Jinks for the year ended 30<sup>th</sup> June, 202 included:

Balance Sheet as at 30<sup>th</sup> June, 2023,

Balance of Account as at 30<sup>th</sup> June, 2023,

Income and Expenditure to 30<sup>th</sup> June, 2023,

Auditors Report to the Members

Auditors confirmation that the financial records have been maintained on a regular and consistent basis.

Bendigo Bridge Club Asset Register at 30<sup>th</sup> June 2023.

Laureen reported that the year ended with a surplus of \$8,450.88

Opening Balance as at 1/7/2022	\$ 308,640.38
Income	\$ 43,876.07
Expenditure	\$ 35,425.19
Closing Balance as at 30/6/2023	\$ <u>317,091.26</u>

The Treasurer Laureen Jinks moved that her repot be accepted. Seconded Merlyn Prichard.

Resolution 1. Laureen Jinks moved that the financial records in 2023 – 2024 financial year be reviewed by an auditor before being submitted to the 2024 AGM. Seconded Brigitte Agnew. Carried.

Resolution 2. That the annual membership subscription fee for the financial year 2024 – 2025 remain at \$35,00 and that the due date for payment will be  $31^{st}$  August, 2024. Moved Brigitte Agnew, seconded Graeme Hegarty. Carried

Resolution 3. The number of ordinary Committee members to be elected is four. Moved Graeme Hegarty. Seconded Eamon Dempsey. Carried.

Election of Office Bearers for the year 2023-2024

Graeme Hegarty declared all positions vacant. Bob Perkins was invited to the chair for the election of President. In the event of a ballot the returning officer will be Barb Evans.

Election of President:

Nominations received from:	Kevin Gunn nominated by Adrian Dezilva, Seconded Vicky Banko		
	Graeme Hegarty nominated by Polly Shaw, seconded Graham Forbes		
	Result of vote Kevin Gunn 10 Graeme Hegarty 28		
	Graeme Hegarty was duly elected.		

Election of Vice President:

Nominations received from: Kevin Gunn nominated by Adrian Dezilva Seconded Vicky Banko Eamon Dempsey nominated by Graeme Hegarty Seconded Bob Perkins. Result of vote Kevin Gunn 8 Eamon Dempsey 29 Eamon Dempsey was duly elected.

Election of Secretary

Nominations received from:	Kevin Gunn nominated by Adrian Dezilva seconded Bernadette Wood	
	Carla Daly nominated by Faye Searle seconded Merlyn Prichard	
	Result of vote Kevin Gunn 4 Carla Daly 34	
	Carla Daly was duly elected.	

Election of Treasurer Nominations received from: Geoffrey Phelps nominated by Graeme Hegarty seconded Eamon Dempsey Kevin Gunn nominated by Adrian Dezilva seconded Vicky Banko Result of vote Jeff Phelps 30 Kevin Gunn 7 Geoffrey Phelps as duly elected.

Election of Ordinary Committee Member willing to do the duties of Club Director Nomination received from Paul O'Hare seconded Graeme Hegarty . As there were no other nominations Paul O'Hare was duly elected to the position of Club Director.

Election of 3 Ordinary members of Committee:

Nominations received from: Kevin Gunn nominated by Adrian Dezilva seconded Kate Cronk Diane Dunlop nominated by Graeme Hegarty seconded Kate Cronk Polly Shaw nominated by Graeme Hegarty seconded Kate Cronk Rosemary Monotti nominated by Graeme Hegarty seconded Brigitte Agnew Result of vote Kevin Gunn 16, Diane Dunlop 33, Polly Shaw 34, Rosemary Monotti 37 Diane Dunlop, Polly Shaw and Rosemary Monotti were duly elected.

President Graeme thanked members of the Committee for their efforts during the past 12 months.

Kate Cronk issued a vote of thanks to Rosemary Phelps for her valuable work as catering officer.

Meeting closed at 12.30 p.m.