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Deler ! 30 Ethics and etiquette

I'm sitting North, with both sides vulnerable, and my partner opens INT. » K10753
The auction goes as follows: v 10863
+9

South West  North  East

% Q65
INT 2 ¢ Pass 2' HEAOMN
Pass Pass Pass 2 =
27 E

-

The 24 bid is alerted as showing spades and another. East’s 2% is not alerted.
Two passes to me and I ask about the 2% bid. I'm told it’s a six-card heart suit.

Dealer

So I pass and my partner’s on lead. At which point East calls the Director.

I figure I'm in trouble because I asked about a bid which had not been alerted. I prepare to apologise
and explain that I assumed that it was a conventional response to an Astro enquiry just denying three

spades.

a K10753
East explains the bidding sequence and points out that I was, in fact, given v 10863
wrong information and that he was actually denying three spades, as I suspected. +9

& Q65
The ruling took a while to resolve but we eventually played the board, A QJOS  EEON A 2
with East managing to scramble five tricks for three oft and a top for v A7 2 = vQJ95
my partner and me. ¢+ J3 - d a + KQ10875

Dealer

A ggod example of ethics and etiquette by East at the Bridge table. * AB743 » AB4 *J9
But it gets better . . . . v K42
Unfortunately delays with the first board meant that we had insufficient time to ¢ ﬁ?gg

&

start the second board. Being unsure how to record ‘no play’ on the Bridgemate
handset, I asked East what I had to do. He replied that the first thing I should do is call the Director

and claim an average plus, as the delay was not my fault, i.e. it was either East’s or the Director’s!
The Director agreed and awarded 50% to East-West and 60% to my partner and me.
So two examples of ethics and etiquette at the Bridge table.

For the purposes of this Replay, South and West can remain anonymous, but I think that I should not
spare East’s blushes and Phil Green should get the credit that he deserves.

Peter van Praag
December 2008

Note

The situation described above is covered by Law 75B, which states that players are entitled to an
accurate description of their opponents’ system. But who corrects, and when?

e If West becomes aware of his own error, he must call the Director immediately.

o East must not say anything during the auction. If he becomes declarer or dummy, as in this case,
he must call the Director after the final Pass and volunteer a correction of the explanation.

e Had East become a defender, he must say nothing until play ends, to avoid giving his partner
unauthorised information. At the end of play, however, the Director must be called.

Oh yes - and if you have no time to play a hand, you enter the contract as O on the BM handset! ¢/
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