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When you are on defense, does your partner try to signal to you? 
Does partner watch and attempt to interpret your signals? 
Do you signal carefully to your partner? 
Do you watch and evaluate your partner’s signals? 
Sometimes it can be difficult deciding how to signal. 
No one gets every deal right. 
 
 
     KQ52         2 Clubs 
     1065          3 NT 
     10974 
     AQ 
 
74         Pass       J1098        Pass 
AQ943         Pass       872            Pass 
K6         Pass       32 
8653         K1094 
 
     A63         Dealer – 1 NT 
     KJ                             2 Diamonds 
     AQJ85                      Pass 
     J72 
 
West leads the 4 of hearts, declarer plays the 5, you (East) should play the heart 
deuce to give partner count.  Declarer will win the Jack and cross to dummy with  
A spade to the King, and run the 10 of diamonds.   
Knowing declarer has a doubleton heart (it cannot be four as he denied a four- 
card major in the auction), it should not be difficult for West to win the K of 
diamonds and put the Ace of hearts on the table:  down one. 
That’s why it’s important for East to give count, playing the 7 or 8 is equal to the 4. 

 
 
 
When the opponent’s bidding indicates they have balanced hands, it’s often best to 
defend passively.  Make safe leads and don’t break new suits. 
On the other hand, it generally pays to be aggressive if the bidding indicates the  
opponents have long suits that will produce a lot of tricks. 
 
Do not signal unnecessarily.  Instead, when discarding, pitch cards that do you no good  
and serve to show no interest in that suit. 
 
 



     AJ2            3 NT 
     J72 
     QJ1098 
     95 
 
763         1095         Pass 
84 Pass        KQ109 
A63 Pass        72 
A10876        Q432 
 
     KQ84 
     A653       Dealer – 1 NT 
     K54                          Pass 
     KJ 
 
West leads the 7 of clubs, declarer plays the 5, East plays the Q, declarer wins 
the K.  Declarer leads the K of diamonds, West plays the 3, dummy the 8, 
East gives count with the 7.  Declarer leads the 5 of diamonds, West plays the 6, 
dummy plays the Q, East plays the 2.  Declarer leads the 3rd diamond from 
Dummy, what should East discard?  East should discard the 2 of clubs, 
remaining count to show that he started with 4 – the Q played at trick one 
and now three remaining.  East would never pitch his last card in your suit, so 
he cannot have started with two.  The light bulb goes off in West’s head. 
South began with only two clubs, cash you’re a of clubs and run the rest of the suit. 

 
When you are a defender: 

1. Cover an honor only when there is a chance to promote a card in your 
own hand or in partner’s hand. 

2. When declarer leads from touching honors (such as Q-J-10), cover the 
second honor unless you are short in the suit, in which case you should 
cover the first honor. 

3. “Second hand low” is a good rule MOST of the time, as with almost all 
things in bridge, there are exceptions. 

4. In suit contracts, consider leading a trump when the auction suggests that  
the opponents have cross-ruffing possibilities.  But avoid leading a 
singleton trump and don’t lead a trump just because you’re afraid to lead 
something else. 

5. If you are ruffing and declarer is overruffing, you may ruff high to promote a 
trump trick for partner. 

6. If dummy has a long suit that can be established, good defenders will attempt 
to knock out dummy’s entries before the suit can be set up. 

7. Don’t lead unsupportive aces.  When in doubt about what to lead, 
lead 4th best in your longest suit.  Leading from length is the “standard” 
lead to a NT contract, and often the safest lead in a suit contract. 


